New Beaux Arts Kitchen Renderings

Another rendering project left my desk today – a wonderful SieMatic Beaux Arts kitchen designed by a close colleague.  The design was complete with plan, elevations and material list and I was asked only to come up with two views that showed the entire space as completely as possible.  The main kitchen has two small “closets” off to each side which lead to a pantry/serving area through pocket doors.  The designers inserted a built-in Miele coffee maker and Miele speed oven into the closets, opposite with shelves.  You can see the small closets in each rendering.  I love how the toekicks and crown moldings project out into the openings and “square-off” each composition.

Main View

SieMatic Beaux Arts Kitchen Rendering by Mick Ricereto

Alternate view, showing the window wall.  I like the angle/dynamics of this shot.

SieMatic Beaux Arts Kitchen Rendering by Mick Ricereto

The big eating surface is Silestone Merope.  Note how I show the reflections on the dark, glossy surface.  Reflections are one of the key areas in producing realism with marker renderings.  I have many other tricks to executing quick interior renderings; one day I should write a big tutorial to document it all before my ways become extinct in this age of computer design and illustration.

2 thoughts on “New Beaux Arts Kitchen Renderings

  1. Hi, I really admire your colored rendering. I was wondering if you use Prismacolor markers and colored pencils for your hand rendering. I need to work on improving my hand rendering especially on coloring the floor.

    • Hi Amy – thanks for commenting. I use Prismacolor markers but rarely any color pencils. Sometimes I use a regular lead pencil to get some texture. For flooring (and any surface, really), walk around the house or some stores/etc. and see how light is playing on the surface of things. Draw what you see, not what you think you see. There are lots of reflections and shadows. Most floors will show a reflection and even if you are rendering what is to be a pretty dull/flat material, putting a little shine and reflection on there really opens up the space and adds realism.

Leave a Reply

